The 3 Types of Biopsies and What You Should Know About Each

Proper BCS greatergood_ctg_belowtitle

A biopsy is a procedure where cells are removed from a suspicious area (like a lump in your breast) to see if they are cancerous. It’s an important procedure to have in many cases of potential breast cancer, because knowing whether or not a tumor is cancerous can be a big factor in the decision

There are three types of biopsy: fine needle aspiration (FNA or FNABx), core needle biopsy, and surgical biopsy.

The following video animation guides you through the three different types, and outlines when each specific type of biopsy is most useful.

Take a look!

Proper BCS greatergood_ctg_abovevideo

Insulin Resistance May Contribute to Poorer Breast Cancer Outcomes, Study Says: Click “Next” below!

C. Dixon likes to read, sing, eat, drink, write, and other verbs. She enjoys cavorting around the country to visit loved ones and experience new places, but especially likes to be at home with her husband, son, and dog.
Proper greatergood_ctg_belowcontent